Newly diagnosed TPI

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Newly diagnosed TPI

Hi everyone, Im a newbie. My chihuahua went to the vet Friday and was determined to have ITP with a platelet count of 0. Shes on prednisone, an immunosuppressant, and omeprazole. Today her platelet count was still 0. Shes fairly active and perky, meds have upset her stomach a little, eating and drinking, etc. She got to come home today with the same meds with her next blood recheck this Friday. Of course she is on restricted activity. Im on pins and needles. My vet said sometimes it takes time for the body to respond to the meds. Anyone else with similar experience? Time frame for meds to spike the count? Thanks so much!

My last dog had that many years ago, and members of this forum will remember the ups and downs that Amy had. Amy got pancreatitis from the Imuran, and was on high doses of Prednisone and other medications including pepcid as to not upset her stomach. It took a long time for her platelet count to come up. She was in a hospital the entire time. She was there for about 4 days the first time, and another 8 after she got the pancreatitis. I know it's hard, but be patient. I'll be sending some prayers for your dog.
    Last edited by JGallo; 01-30-2019, 05:36 PM.
    Jill Gallo /Manager
    The Petsforums Management Team

My Albums

Comment

Thank you! I hate your baby had to go through all that. Its difficult when they appear healthy and then diagnosed out of the blue with ITP. Prayers are much appreciated!

Comment