Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Vaulting Surcingle

Default Vaulting Surcingle

Hey guys! I have checked messages every once in awhile, but haven't posted in a good long time. I graduated from my Feldenkrais training and hope to start a practice in the near future. Met a couple of horsey people in the training and we have study groups on occassion. One woman and I go out most Saturdays and practice Feldenkrais on horses. It is loads of fun.

My daughters are starting to want to play with vaulting again. A couple of years ago they learned to stand up while their horses were walking, but that was as far as it go. Now Martha is just dying to do more vaulting with Skyline. I am thinking about buying a vaulting surcingle, but wonder if there is anything I should know before I buy one. Do I need to worry about the fit on the withers or are they more or less one size fits all (I do know that there are pony, cob, horse and large horse, but beyond that is one going to be as good as any other for fit?). What about quality? I see two kinds. One is professional and one is basic. How far can she go with the basic one? I don't want to spend $200 now and then in a very short time turn around and buy another one for $300, rather than just buying the $300 one in the first place. However, I don't want to buy the more expensive one if the basic one will be fine for years to come.

Thanks,
    Kim

Quote Originally Posted by KimHoward
    Hey guys! I have checked messages every once in awhile, but haven't posted in a good long time. I graduated from my Feldenkrais training and hope to start a practice in the near future. Met a couple of horsey people in the training and we have study groups on occassion. One woman and I go out most Saturdays and practice Feldenkrais on horses. It is loads of fun.